Bacon and Asparagus Pasta

Comfort Food. It’s been a must this week. On Monday I had to put down my kitty Stellaluna. She was only 6 years old and went into renal failure, so it’s been sad. She was definitely my doppleganger. See?

IMG_0276

Told you. My mom used to tell me she was my karma.

Anyway, in these situations pasta and wine is always helpful. I’m traveling back to Houston on Sunday so I’ve been trying to use all the stuff I have in my kitchen without buying any groceries. Let’s just say that I was getting pretty clever with eggs since that’s just about the last thing I had left. On Wednesday morning someone knocked on our door in 9:30am. When I opened the door, the delivery guy had groceries that one of my best friends in Boston had sent me since he knew I was running low. It included granola, avocados, bacon, asparagus, fresh ciabatta bread, pesto, cheese and wine. He knows me pretty well, I guess. As soon as I saw the bacon and asparagus I knew what I was going to make. This was definitely my go to recipe (along with stir-fry and angel hair soup) during college.

Bacon and Asparagus Pasta

2-3 strips of bacon, sliced into bite sized pieces
3 onion slices, cut down the middle for smaller strips
5  asparagus spears

(I had the big ones so I only used five. If I was to use the smaller spears, I’d definitely use more)

Pasta

(I like long skinny pasta noodles for this dish. Here I used campanelli but you could also use thin spaghetti or linguini, etc. Or, if you like thicker noodles    (which I do not!) then pick your favorite!

Pesto
Italian cheese
Butter and Olive Oil

Directions

1. Saute bacon on medium-low heat in a heavy bottom skillet until it reaches desired crispiness. Remove and drain on paper towel

photo image_1

2. Add onions into bacon grease and sauté until caramelized. Add bacon pieces back into skillet.

image_2 image_3 image_4

3. Cook asparagus in 400º oven for 5-8 minutes or until bright green and fork tender. Cut into bite sized pieces.

image image_5

4. Cook pasta according to directions. Drain and add back into pot. Add 1T butter, pesto (~1T), bacon, onion, asparagus, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Toss to combine. Add cheese and serve.

image_6

I sat down with this pasta and a glass of wine to watch the season finale of Boardwalk Empire. If you have not watched it, you should. Possibly one of my favorite series, and sadly to say I’ve watched a lot of TV series in the past. Here’s to being happy that I was blessed to know and love Stella!

image_8

Leave a Reply

