Ciabatta Bread

IMG_0648

Here goes round #2 in Me vs Bread. I found this recipe for a quick and easy Ciabatta bread a while back. After the problem’s caused for the long rise time of the no-knead bread in my cold house, I wanted to pick something that had a very short rise time so I could keep it heated in the oven the whole time. This time the dough really did rise!!! Then sunk back down again… But at least this time that was supposed to happen.

There was only one problem I had with this bread. Now listen very closely because I don’t think this will ever happen again: The bread was a little too salty for me. And let me tell you, I like my salt. The only time I can remember something being too salty for me was when I was making stir fry and the top of my grinder broke off over my food, dumping huge salt crystals over my vegetables. Needless to say, I scraped off what I could and proceeded to eat it anyway. And even that wasn’t terrible, despite the occasional salty crunch when I bit into a crystal I missed.

Anyway, the point is the bread was a little salty and next time I would decrease the amount probably to 1tsp or less. But it truly was a very fast and easy bread.

Ingredients (From The Cake Hunter)

3 1/8c unbleached bread flour

1.9c room temperature water (450mL)

1/2 t sugar

1 1/2 t active dry yeast

1 1/2 t salt (Probably Less!)

1T olive oil

Directions

1. Pre heat oven to 400°C

2. In a large bowl mix with your hands flour, sugar and yeast. Pour in the water.

IMG_0635 IMG_0636 IMG_0637

3. Add salt and ‘beat’ in the bowl with your hands for 5 minutes. The dough should be very thick and wet and not like a regular bread dough. To beat the dough you need to pull at parts of the dough and stretch it up high and then slap it down again. This pushes air pockets into the dough to create the airy texture.

IMG_0638

(Just a heads up, it’s reeeeaaalllyy gooey so if you need to touch anything such as your computer like I did make sure you have someone around to help!)

4. Pour about 1 Tablespoon of olive oil over the dough so the oil covers the top and goes down the side of the dough.

IMG_0639

5. Allow to rise covered with cling film for about 1 hour or until it doubles in size.

IMG_0641

(It really did double in size this time!)

6. Pour the dough onto a well floured baking tray (without kneading any further) and fold over like an envelope length ways to create the ciabatta shape.

IMG_0642

7.Bake for 30-40 minutes  until golden and when tapped sounds hollow

IMG_0647

Enjoy however you want! I buttered and toasted a piece and added some avocado slices on top. If I would have had queso fresco I would have added that too! Yay for fresh bread!

Leave a Reply

