Banana Bread

IMG_1107

Everyone needs a go-to banana bread recipe. And this is mine. It was only the second banana recipe I tried a few years ago and I’ve stopped looking. I still have a few bookmarked recipes that I always pretend I’m going to try this time, but I never do. How could you steer away from a 1-bowl recipe that turns out great every time? One of these days I promise I’ll bring myself to try a new recipe, though. Just for kicks and giggles.

Ingredients

¾ cup butter, softened
2 eggs
1 ½ cup brown sugar
2c  mashed bananas (I usually use 3 medium/large bananas)
1/2 cup crushed pineapple and 1/2 cup applesauce.
1 ½ teaspoons baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
½ teaspoon cinammon
2 ½ cups flour
1  bag semi-sweet (or dark) chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
Cream butter, eggs, brown sugar. Then add bananas, applesauce and crushed pineapple.
IMG_1097IMG_1099
Add baking soda, salt, vanilla, cinnamon, and flour. Mix well.
IMG_1096   IMG_1100
Stir in the chocolate chips (I didn’t use quite the whole bag–probably around 3/4–but just use your judgement on how much chocolate you want!)
IMG_1101
Pour into bread pan(s) and bake for 55 minutes-1 hour.
IMG_1102IMG_1103
(**The recipe says to pour it into 3 medium bread pans, but I usually just pour it into the one larger one I have. However, once again I decided to test the volumetric limits of my baking dishes and the theory that most baked goods rise (see Blueberry Coffee Cake) and I had a slight overflow problem as well as a longer cooking time that caused the top edges to get a little well done. That being said, the whole thing was still ridiculously moist. I’d advise either using 2 pans or just pouring some of the batter into individual pyrex bowls**)
Leave a Reply

