Roasted Garlic, Sweet Potato, Spinach and Goat Cheese Pizza on Cauliflower Crust

IMG_1142

I recently started teacher training to become a yoga instructor. I now spend 20 hours a week at my yoga studio on top of classes and work so you could say I’ve been a little busy. So busy that I realized on Thursday that I had not cooked (and barely had) dinner for 2 weeks. You might imagine that for someone with a food blog, this is a pretty big deal. That’s why I decided that yesterday I would skip an (OPTIONAL!) class and actually cook dinner (my little love had also just came back from the vet after getting neutered so I wanted to make sure he was all right). And, man am I glad I did. This pizza is most definitely one of the best things I’ve ever made. As in top 5 status, possibly 3, maybe even 1. But let’s not get carried away with ourselves.

You won’t see a lot of pizza recipes on here because…..wait for it….. I don’t like pizza. I know! Most people think I’m entirely crazy. Don’t get me wrong, I love the bread part and cheese part, it’s the sauce that I hate. I find it revolting and it actually makes me gag. Something about the texture just doesn’t sit right with me. This is also the same reason I can’t eat yogurt (Eck!). Unless it’s frozen and then bring it on.

Anyway, as a general rule I never really crave pizza. I definitely enjoy it if there’s no red sauce like on a pesto pizza or barbecue chicken pizza but it’s usually not on my food radar. However, I saw this cauliflower crust a while ago and I’ve been wanting to make it and see if it was actually as good as everyone says. Then when I came across a recipe which topped it with mashed sweet potato, kale and goat cheese and I knew I had to try it. I couldn’t seem to find kale at multiple stores however, so I settled on spinach instead. I was most worried that the crust wouldn’t hold together very well but it was perfect.

This pizza was amazing. And really easy. And did I mention amazing? Please make this and you can thank me later.

Happy Saturday! (Now off to more training…)

Ingredients

2 cups cauliflower, grated or food processed into rice size pieces

1 cup mozzarella cheese, grated

1 egg

1 garlic clove, minced

1 tsp. basil

1 sweet potato, medium-sized

1T butter

2 cups spinach leaves, chopped

Parmesan cheese

2 tbs. goat cheese, crumbled

1 head of garlic

pinch of salt

Directions

Preheat oven to at 400°F

To make the roasted garlic, cut off the top of the garlic head, drizzle with olive oil, wrap in foil and bake  until golden brown (~45 minutes). Once done, pop cloves of garlic out and roughly chop/slice them.

 IMG_1124IMG_1136

Bake sweet potato until fork tender (~1 hour). (Or you can be impatient like me and microwave it for 10 minutes). Once its done, remove skin from sweet potato and mash in a bowl. Add butter and salt and mix.

Coat a baking sheet with a thin layer of olive oil. Spread grated cauliflower across the baking sheet and bake in oven for 15-20 minutes.

IMG_1128 IMG_1129 IMG_1133

In a bowl beat the egg. Add the cheese, garlic and basil and mix. Once cauliflower is done, add that to the cheese mixture and mix until well combined.

IMG_1131 IMG_1132 IMG_1134

Spread mixture onto an oiled baking sheet and form into a circle. Bake for 25 minutes.

IMG_1135IMG_1137

Once the crust is done, remove from the oven. Spread mashed sweet potato over the crust. Add roasted garlic then sprinkle on some parmesan cheese (just because I can). Next top with spinach and goat cheese. (I didn’t use a measured amount of either so just keep adding until you feel the need to stop).

IMG_1138 IMG_1139 IMG_1141

Turn oven down to 350°F and bake for 15 minutes. Let cook 5 minutes then slice and eat!

IMG_1145IMG_1144

3 thoughts on “Roasted Garlic, Sweet Potato, Spinach and Goat Cheese Pizza on Cauliflower Crust

  1. Wow, this sounds amazing. I keep wanting to try cauliflower pizza crust (though, unlike you, I crave pizza 24/7!) but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Thanks for posting this!

  2. My sister has become a big fan of substituting cauliflower for everything to make dishes healthier (I even think she did a pizza crust a month or two ago?)…which is fine by me, cauliflower is God to broccoli’s Satan, Brady to broccoli’s Flacco. But I’ll make sure she sees this, if she hasn’t already.

Leave a Reply

