Sweet Potato, Black Bean and Kale Burgers

IMG_1284

This past weekend was absolutely amazing.

It was sunny and 70° Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

I was a little bummed at first because I was supposed to fly out to Vegas on Thursday to see my sister, but it ended up not working out. However, I ended up having a FANTASTIC time. The good times started on Thursday when one of my good friends took me to a delicious birthday dinner followed by some super yummy Raspberry Chip custard.

Although Friday was supposed to be my day off, I had to come in and meet with some people from GE. I was a little irritated at first, but it ended up being extremely useful and on my lunch break I got to walk around campus and see the cherry blossoms in bloom before they go away.

IMG_1238 IMG_1242 IMG_1251

Later in the afternoon I met up with one of my fellow teacher trainees at a park in Seattle and we played around with handstands, arm balance combos and some AcroYoga. We may have gotten a lot of funny looks, but it was fantastic. Then I went home, made spaghetti carbonara then went salsa dancing from 8pm-1am.

Saturday I was able to lay outside for a while and eat a breakfast burrito before going to teacher training. After that I went over to my friends house for a Mexican pot luck with a lot of delicious food and a margarita the size of my face. No, really

 IMG_0581 - Version 2

Then we went out to celebrate my birthday which was also awesome because a lot of amazing people (none of whom I eben knew 6 months ago) came out.

Sunday was my first actual day-off since New Year’s because training was cancelled due to Easter and I decided to take full advantage of the time and sun by hanging out with one of my good friends on her roof top deck reading and drinking some amazing vodka. We decided to take a trip to Vancouver as soon as my training is done in mid-June which should be amazing. I also really need to go back to Glacier National Park this summer because it is so beautiful.

IMG_1981 IMG_0379 IMG_0399

And no, these pictures are not fake.

I went home to start making these burgers and I got a call from 2 of my friends wanting to buy me a birthday drink. We had an awesome conversation (albeit really poor service) and they showed me a fantastic new song.

Then I finished making these burgers to round out the summer-like weekend and it was perfect.

Is it time to go to Vancouver yet?

Ingredients

1 can (15 ox) black beans, drained and rinsed
1 shallot, diced
1 medium sweet potato, cooked and removed from skin
1 c kale, finely chopped
1/3 c cilantro, finely chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 c warm water + 3 T ground flax
1T molasses
1 jalapeño, diced
1/2 t garlic powder
1/2 t cayenne
1 t cumin
1/2 t salt
1/4 t pepper
1/4 c whole wheat flour

Directions

Place black beans in a large bowl and mash half of them.

IMG_1265

Add onion, garlic, kale, cilantro, jalapeño and combine

IMG_1267 IMG_1271

Add the sweet potato, molasses, flax seed, seasonings and flour and mix well to combine.

IMG_1273 IMG_1275 IMG_1276

Form into patties and refrigerate for 30 minutes (or 3 hours if you’re friends take you out to a bar)

IMG_1278

Bake at 375° for 13 minutes on each side. (**You can also place the patties in panko breadcrumbs before cooking, I just didn’t have any and they still stayed together well)

IMG_1280

Finish them off by sautéing them in a heavy bottom skillet for 1 minute each side.

Then serve however you like! I placed mine of a slightly buttered and grilled sourdough roll with some spicy mustard, gouda cheese and avocado. YUM!

IMG_1282

Leave a Reply

