Butternut Squash and Black Bean Enchiladas Verdes

IMG_1344 (1)

Margaritas are an appropriate drink for a Sunday night, right? Maybe it’s just me but it’s just unnatural to eat Tex-Mex food without one. And that’s exactly what I did.

Sunday was bring a beginner guest day to our yoga teacher training. All the trainees stood along the side of the studio and we were randomly called one at a time to teach a section of the sequence we’ve been learning. I brought a friend who had never done yoga before (even though he busted out a mean warrior II) and then to thank him I made these enchiladas.

This is a recipe I learned from my aunt during one of the summers I spent with her down in Ft Lauderdale. Every other time I’ve made these it has been with shredded chicken but this time I decided to try it vegetarian mostly because I had a butternut squash in my kitchen that was calling my name. But feel free to try either way because both will be fantastic.

Ironically enough I don’t think I would ever order enchiladas verdes at a mexican restaurant.  This might go back to a traumatizing experience I had with them on the San Antonio Boardwalk back in my competitive cheerleading days. But what might be stranger is the fact that I’ve never made enchiladas rojas because I just love this recipe way too much.

The assembly process can get pretty messy but other than that these enchiladas are really easy and so very delicious. AND MAKE SURE NOT TO TOUCH YOUR EYES FOR A WHILE, especially if you have contacts. Not that I have personal experiences with that or anything…

Definitely think about making these for cinco de mayo (too far away for me to say this?) if you plan on having people over. And also they go really well with margaritas in case I hadn’t mentioned that yet.

Ingredients

1 butternut squash, peeled and cubed

1t salt, pepper, cumin, paprika, chili powder

1/2 t cayenne pepper

1 (15-oz) can black beans (drained)

2 T butter

1+ c chopped Spanish onion

2 T all-purpose flour

1.5 c chicken broth

¾ c chopped green chile peppers (in the can)

½ c (approx.) fresh poblano or Anaheim green chiles

½ a habanero, 1 serano, or a couple jalapeños (seeded if you don’t want it too spicy and diceD)

10-15 garlic cloves (yes, seriously–I usually use a whole head but you can definitely use less)

¾ t salt

1T ground cumin

corn tortillas

canola oil (for frying)

1 package shredded Monterey Jack cheese

1 package shredded sharp Cheddar cheese

1 c heavy cream

¼ c chopped green onion

Directions

Place butternut squash in a 9×13 baking dish. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt, pepper, cumin, paprika, chili powder and cayenne. Roast until fork tender  (but not too soft because they will continue to cook in the enchiladas!) approximately 25 minutes. Remove to a bowl and add black beans.

IMG_1315 IMG_1316

IMG_1317

IMG_1318 IMG_1324

Melt butter in saucepan over medium heat

Sauté onion until translucent. Add the garlic and peppers and sauté for 2 more minutes. Add the chiles.

 IMG_1320 IMG_1321 IMG_1322

Stir in the flour. Add the  broth and seasonings.

IMG_1325

Simmer 15 minutes to blend flavors then set aside

Preheat oven to 350˚

Combine the cheeses, keeping ½ c aside for topping

In a heavy skillet, lightly fry tortillas in shallow oil, being careful not to make them too crisp to roll

IMG_1327 IMG_1330

Dip each tortilla in salsa verde (both sides)

Places 2 T butternut squash mixture and 2 T cheese down center of each tortilla; roll and place seam side down in a shallow dish

IMG_1335 IMG_1336

After all the tortillas are rolled, spoon additional salsa verde over them and cover evenly with heavy cream.

IMG_1337 IMG_1338 IMG_1339

 Sprinkle with remaining ½ c cheese mixture and green onions

IMG_1340 IMG_1341

Bake uncovered in preheated oven until the cheese is golden brown and bubbly, about 30-45 minutes.

IMG_1343

Leave a Reply

