Spaghetti and Meatballs

IMG_1484

This weekend was completely yoga-packed. Friday my friend and I went to Wine World for their Yoga + Wine tasting night. It was “yoga for athletes” so it involved a lot of stretching and laying down so it wasn’t that great since I”m a vinyasa girl but it was a fun experience and the wine was (obviously) delicious. And then in addition to training on Saturday I went to a free class at Chihuly Garden and Glass led by Lisa Black, the founder of Shakti yoga. The yoga was pretty fun but the best part by far was the surroundings. Just look at the view I had when I laid down on my mat:

photo (2)

In addition to these classes I officially became a certified yoga instructor!!! We had our test on Saturday and then a last class on Sunday in which we did the whole sequence blindfolded, which was pretty intense. I feel pretty weird now being done with training but it’s nice to know that I’ll have a little more free time…well, for two weeks at least and then our extensions training program begins.

Anyway, concerning the second most important thing in my life behind yoga, let’s talk food (food should probably be tied with wine, but that’s a debate for another time). I have been waiting to re-make this recipe ever since I bought my dutch oven and I’m so glad I finally did it.  This is one of my favorite recipes (adapted from the Pioneer Woman) and I would highly suggest you try it soon because sometimes you just can’t get any better than spaghetti and meatballs.

Ingredients

Meatballs:
3/4 pounds Ground Beef
3/4 pounds Ground Pork
3 cloves Garlic, Minced
3/4 c Fine Bread Crumbs
2 whole Eggs
3/4 c Freshly Grated Parmesan
1/4 c basil, chiffonade
1/4 t Salt
Freshly Ground Black Pepper
Splash Of Milk
1/2 c Olive Oil
Sauce:
1 whole Yellow Onion, Diced
3 cloves Garlic, Minced
2 whole 28 Ounce Can Crushed Tomatoes
1/2 c Red Wine
1/4 t Salt
1 teaspoon Sugar
Freshly Ground Black Pepper
1/4 c Fresh Basil Leaves, chiffonade
2 pounds Spaghetti, Cooked To Al Dente

Directions

To make the meatballs, combine meat, garlic, breadcrumbs, Parmesan, eggs, salt, pepper, parsley, and a splash of milk in a mixing bowl. Mix together well with hands. Roll into 25 1 1/2-inch balls and place on a cookie sheet. Place cookie sheet into the freezer for 5 to 10 minutes to firm up.

IMG_1439 IMG_1441 IMG_1442

To brown the meatballs, heat olive oil in a heavy pot or large skillet over medium-high heat. Add meatballs 8 at a time, turning to brown. Remove and drain on a paper towel after each batch. Set meatballs aside.

IMG_1466

In the same pot, add the onions and garlic and cook for a few minutes, or until translucent. Pour in tomatoes and wine. Add salt, pepper and sugar. Stir to combine and cook over medium heat for 20 minutes.

IMG_1471 IMG_1475

Add meatballs to pot and stir in gently. Reduce heat to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes, stirring very gently a couple of times during the simmer.

IMG_1476

Just before serving, stir in basil if using.

IMG_1477

Serve over cooked spaghetti. Sprinkle with extra Parmesan.

IMG_1481

Leave a Reply

