Roasted Garlic, Kale and Almond Pasta with Brown Butter Sauce

IMG_1777

I decided to make pasta. Then I decided to make roasted garlic, kale and acorn squash pasta. Then my acorn squash frightened me so I decided to just make roasted garlic and kale pasta. Then I saw that I had some fresh breadcrumbs in the fridge and I decided to roast them too. Then I went to get the pasta out of the cabinet and saw sliced almonds and decided to throw those in the oven as well for good measure.

You can tell I really planned out this meal.

Regardless, this ad-hoc roasting extravaganza produced an extremely tasty and easy meal. Not so much on the healthy side though, but still…we all have our moments. There was something very satisfying about tossing everything in a little olive oil, salt and pepper then throwing it all onto one baking sheet and shoving it into the oven. No mess, no fuss.

Since it was random, I don’t have exact amounts but the great thing about this recipe is you can (as I clearly demonstrated) throw whatever you have on hand into this pasta. In my case everything had the same roasting time which made it even easier, but if yours didn’t (for instance, if your acorn squash seemed perfectly friendly and not at all scary) just throw it in first then add the other ingredients later on in the cooking process.

Ingredients

3-4 garlic cloves, sliced thinly

Kale, torn into pieces

1/2 c fresh breadcrumbs

Sliced almonds

Olive oil

1/2 stick butter

1 shallot, minced

8 oz pasta

Mozzarella cheese

Directions

Toss kale, garlic, breadcrumbs and almonds in olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Roast at 425 for 10-15 minutes.

IMG_1755

In a sauce pan, melt the butter and add the shallot. Cook on medium-low heat until the butter begins to turn slightly brown. Remove from heat and keep stirring as the butter continues to deepen slightly in color.

IMG_1762 IMG_1769

IMG_1771

Cook pasta according to directions. Drain then add brown butter sauce and toss. Add the rest of the ingredients, top with cheese and mix.

IMG_1773

Leave a Reply

