Raspberry Cheesecake Ice Cream

IMG_2240

Just a friendly tip, if you do not have any type of electric mixer do not attempt this alone. At one point the recipe calls for whipping a package of cream cheese, a pint of heavy cream and a can of sweetened condensed milk until stiff peaks form… Now I’m not quite sure about the exact viscosity of this mixture (sorry, sometimes I can’t suppress the engineer in me), but lets just say it’s up there. I don’t think I ever quite got it up to stiff peaks, but I think I at least got to medium before my arm wanted to fall off.

I swear, sometimes I want to get married only so I can get a KitchenAid Stand Mixer…

Anyway, I haven’t been cooking/baking a lot recently because I’ve been busy with work, teaching yoga and just plain being out in the sun as much as possible. I also put together a little yoga challenge that I’ve been doing in July where you do a different pose each day and I have a few friends who have been doing it with me, which is super exciting. If you want you can check it out here.

This ice cream recipe is a great alternative if you don’t have an ice cream maker. Although the whipping was a pain, it was definitely worth it and gave the ice cream the right texture. I often make frozen yogurt where you simply put it in a baking dish, place it in the freezer and stir it every 30 minutes or so. That works well too, but it’s definitely not as smooth and creamy.

Ingredients:

(Ice cream base)

  • 2 c heavy whipping cream
  • 1 can (14oz) sweetened condensed milk
  • 7 oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 2 t vanilla

(Raspberry swirl)

  • 2 c fresh raspberries
  • 3 T sugar
  • 2 T lemon juice

(Graham Cracker mixture)

  • 2-1/4 c graham cracker crumbs (about 36 squares)
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1/2 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 c butter, melted

Optional: Hot fudge (I had some left over that I made a few days before and dolloped some of that in the ice cream as well, because we all know how I feel about desserts that don’t have chocolate)

Directions:

Combine raspberries, sugar, and lemon juice in a pan over medium-high heat. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat.

Allow berry mixture to simmer for a few minutes, until mixture thickens. Remove pan from heat, pour mixture into a bowl, and stick your bowl in the fridge to chill.

 IMG_2225

IMG_2228

In a large bowl, combine the cracker crumbs, sugar and cinnamon. Stir in butter. Pat into an ungreased 9×13″ baking pan. Bake at 350° for 10-15 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool completely on a wire rack then crumble.

IMG_2221 IMG_2222

In a large bowl, beat your cream cheese with an electric mixer until smooth.

Slowly add condensed milk and vanilla, and whisk mixture until smooth.

 IMG_2231

Add heavy cream and keep whisking until stiff peaks form.

IMG_2232

Spoon about half of your whipped cream mixture into a standard sized loaf pan.

IMG_2233

Remove your chilled berry sauce from the fridge and spoon about half of it over your whipped cream mixture in the loaf pan. Sprinkle half of the graham cracker mixture on top (and optional fudge).

IMG_2234 IMG_2235 IMG_2236

Repeat with the remaining ingredients

IMG_2237 IMG_2238 IMG_2239

Use a butter knife to drag/swirl your raspberry and graham cracker mixture into your cream mixture. Top with remaining graham cracker mixture (you’ll probably still have some left)

IMG_2240 IMG_2241

Cover pan tightly with aluminum foil, and stick it in the freezer for about 6 hours, or until ice cream is firm enough to scoop.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

