Basil and Garlic Naan

IMG_2747

Let’s talk Naan for a quick sec. Garlic Naan= The Best Ever. Ok? Conversation over. I’m glad you agree.

My roommate left for Dubai with chicken marinating in the fridge that he didn’t get to cook to which he bequeathed to me. I also conveniently had some Tikka Masala sauce and voila, dinner! However, it is sacrilegious to eat Tikka Masala without naan and because I haven’t found any store-bought naan in Seattle I really like yet, I decided to make my own. I have made naan a few times before with varying degrees of success so I was a little nervous but I ended up really enjoying this recipe. And with the aid of my stand mixer (still excited–Ahhhh!) it was really easy

I also decided to add basil to the garlic naan because I am apparently incapable of keeping a basil plant alive and needed to use it up. Soooo good. And now I’m just hungry.

Yeasted Naan

Makes 6
Ingredients :
2 cups bread flour or strong white flour or all purpose flour*
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tsp active yeast
2 tbsp ghee or olive oil
5 tbsp yogurt
1/2 cup lukewarm water
a few cloves of garlic, finely chopped
basil leaves, chiffonade
 
Things you need
A heavy bottom skillet with lid or Pressure cooker

Directions:

Mix the water, yeast and sugar and leave for 10 minutes for the yeast to come alive.

IMG_2727 IMG_2728

Add salt to the flour and keep aside. Once the yeast has proofed, add it to the flour along with yogurt and ghee. Knead the dough well for about 10 minutes. (I cheated here and just used a stand mixer and it worked out great!). Keep it in a greased bowl covered with wet towel to rise, 2-3 hours (When I cook bread, I often heat up the oven to 200º then immediately turn it off and place my dough in the oven to help it rise. Might be cheating again. But hey! If it works, right?”)

IMG_2730  IMG_2736

IMG_2737  IMG_2739

Once it rises, knead it for another 5 minutes and divide it into equal size balls.

IMG_2741

Roll each piece into a flat ball. Flour a surface and begin to roll out the dough with a rolling pin into a teardrop shape–use your hands to help form the dough.

IMG_2742

Top each piece of dough with desired about of basil and garlic and then use your hands or rolling pin to press the garlic and basil into the dough slightly.

IMG_2743 IMG_2744

Heat a heavy bottom skillet over medium-high to high heat for a few minutes. Lay a piece of naan (garlic/basil side down) onto the skillet and cook until bubbles begin to form and the naan becomes golden brown, 2-3 minutes. Flip and heat until cooked through.

IMG_2746 IMG_2747

Feel free to spread butter or ghee on top of the naan to make it even more delicious!

One thought on “Basil and Garlic Naan

  1. Pingback: Gobi Musallam – Whole Roasted Cauliflower | The Chocolate Avocado

Leave a Reply

