No-Bake Chocolate Coconut Pecan Bars

IMG_4019

So I may have done something not very smart… I needed to free up space for more pictures here and so I deleted old pictures in order to do that. However, I neglected to check whether or not this would delete the pictures that were linked to certain posts on my blog. Spoiler Alert–it does 😦

I’m working on fixing this, but it’s going to be tedious so for the time being, if you run across an old recipe that has a lot of media failures, just know that it’s me and not you (isn’t that how it always is?)

Anywho, recently, I’ve been obsessed with coconut which is strange because I never use to eat coconut before (although I also figured out that I my last boyfriend of 2 years was allergic to it, which could be one reason). I’m cooking and baking with it and I’ve even been using coconut oil as a facewash! Sounds strange, but with all the yoga I’ve been doing it’s actually been really good because it serves as a cleanser and a moisturizer. 

Speaking of yoga, I just completed a thirty day challenge at shefayoga in Seattle in which you do 30 classes in 30 days. It was completely amazing and totally revamped my practice. At the end of last year I was down to only 1 or 2 classes a week (so depressing) and after being in Texas for the holidays (hello queso and brisket!) I really needed to get back to one of the things I love most in the world.  

It feels amazing to be practicing all the time and it also helps that I crave healthy foods when I’m being active, hence these snack or dessert bars. I just mixed together things that seemed yummy and I apparently made something gluten free, vegan (because of the dark chocolate) and healthy. The only questionable ingredient–in the healthy sense– would be the chocolate, but no matter how healthy I am being, one should never expect me to give up chocolate. Just drop that idea from your mind now and forever. 

Ingredients

1.5 cups chopped pecans (or your favorite nut)

2 cups sweetened coconut

1 Tablespoon coconut oil

1 cup dark chocolate

1/4 c almond butter

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Spread the pecans and coconut on a baking sheet and lightly toast (~10 minutes), shaking the pan every few minutes to prevent the edges from burning. Cool slightly **This step is completely optional. These bars would be just as good without toasting**

IMG_4007

3. Melt chocolate and coconut oil over a double boiler.

IMG_4008

4. Mix together pecans, coconut, almond butter. Add ~3/4 of melted chocolate and mix.

IMG_4010 IMG_4012

5. Line an 8×8 baking dish with parchment paper and spread mixture evenly into dish.

IMG_4013

6. Freeze until chilled (~30 minutes). Whenever you are ready to eat, remove from the freezer, slice and serve! These are good both cold and at room temperature (although a little messier for the latter)

IMG_4016

Leave a Reply

