Nutella Stuffed Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies w/Sea Salt

IMG_4043

This weekend was alllll about love and yoga. For Valentine’s Day I made these absolutely, ridiculously amazing cookies for all of my coworkers. The coworker who sits next to me was making fun of me for being the most festive person in the lab considering I am 1 of the few single people in a group of about 30. But these cookies are just too good not to be shared, and what better day to do it?  These have become my go-to chocolate chip cookies, developed by Monique at Ambition Kitchen. They’re not too much more difficult than traditional chocolate chip cookies but the extra effort is sooo worth it.

Then Saturday I taught my very own arm balance and inversion workshop at CorePower Yoga, which ended up being completely amazing! Everyone around me must be annoyed by how grateful I keep saying I am, but it’s true!!! I still get excited thinking about it. Over 40 people attended and I got a lot of great feedback. Plus, I didn’t fall on my face–quite a feat with demonstrating Urdhva Kukkutasana in from of a packed room of yogis. Some of my students were so excited about it that I’m going to organize an Instagram challenge for the month of March 🙂

It’s strange how absolutely exhausting teaching can be. After teaching 2 classes then my workshop I felt completely depleted of energy (but in a good way!). Funnily enough, what ended up giving me more energy was the yoga class  I did later. The owner of the studio I’ve been going to this past month was celebrating her birthday by having a live DJ (DJ HyFi) come and play live music while she taught a class. It was really awesome (and the champagne after made it even more so).

After all the yoga fun, the next day I hosted a second annual Single Ladies’ Night. Don’t let the name fool you, however. Basically, it’s just a night of fireplaces, wine, chocolate, cheese and good friends and to attend you neither have to be single nor a lady–but you do have to wear heels. Exhibit A: My friend Justice and his lovely fiancé Laura

IMG_4065

I re-made my chocolate and brie grilled sandwiches that made their debut last year at single ladies’ night but this time I made 3 types–regular, orange and mexican chocolate for a little variety. You should definitely try it some time if you have never had the pleasure.

Basically what I’m trying to say is Chocolate+Yoga+Wine/Champagne+Love = Perfection

And now, chocolate chip cookies!

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon plain greek yogurt
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks (or chips)
  • 1 cup dark chocolate (you can use chips but I used a bar that I cut into chunks)
  • 1 jar of Nutella, chilled in refrigerator
  • Coarse sea salt for sprinkling

Directions

Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and set aside. Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. The butter will begin to foam. Make sure you whisk consistently during this process. After a couple of minutes, the butter will begin to brown on the bottom of the saucepan; continue to whisk and remove from heat as soon as the butter begins to brown and give off a nutty aroma. Immediately transfer the butter to a bowl to prevent burning. Set aside to cool for a few minutes.

IMG_4023 IMG_4025 IMG_4026
With an electric mixer, mix the butter and sugars until thoroughly blended. Beat in the egg, yolk, vanilla, and yogurt until combined. Add the dry ingredients slowly and beat on low-speed just until combined. Gently fold in all of the chocolate chips.
IMG_4027 IMG_4028
IMG_4029 IMG_4030
Chill your dough for 2 hours in the refrigerator.
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Once dough is chilled measure about 1 1/2 tablespoons of dough and roll into a ball. Flatten the dough ball very thinly into the palm of your hand. Place 1 teaspoon of chilled nutella in the middle and fold dough around it; gently roll into a ball — it doesn’t have to be perfectly rolled! Make sure that the nutella is not seeping out of the dough. Add more dough if necessary. Place dough balls on cookie sheet, 2 inches apart and flatten with your hand VERY gently. (And shape into hearts if you want!)
IMG_4031 IMG_4032 IMG_4033
IMG_4039
Bake the cookies 9-11 minutes or until the edges of the cookies begin to turn golden brown. They will look a bit underdone in the middle, but will continue to cook once out of the oven. Cool the cookies on the sheets at least 2 minutes. Sprinkle with a little sea salt. Remove the cooled cookies from the baking sheets after a few minutes and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Repeat with remaining dough.
IMG_4036 IMG_4037 IMG_4041
IMG_4044
Leave a Reply

